PIN-spiration… In The Kitchen

So, this week flew by! How about for you? I’m loving this Fall weather we’ve had around here, it’s been cloudy and rainy most of the week and it’s been obvious that the seasons are changing! Fall is my second favorite season (Spring is first, but only slightly). 😉 I’ve been spending a lot of time in my kitchen this week, Fall makes me want to cook and bake and on top of that we’ve been trying to eat healthier so that’s been pushing me in there more too… it’s a good thing…

Anyway…

I’m sure most of you have heard of Pinterest by now, but for those of you who haven’t, you must check it out! It’s like an online inspiration board where you can keep all kinds of inspiring things, recipes, crafty things you’d like to try, etc all in one place! It’s awesome! So, I’ve tried several new recipes I’ve found there recently and I thought since it’s been a while since I’ve shared a recipe and I’ve been in the kitchen a lot this week, it seemed fitting to share one! 🙂

{Image via ReadySetEat}

We’ve had it twice now and everyone likes it, even my two (somewhat) finicky eating children. They’ve picked the zucchini out but aside from that they liked everything. Even though my 6 year old doesn’t like cooked zucchini, she does like it raw, so I sliced up some uncooked for her so she’s still getting those vegetables! 🙂 Anyway, there are two things I love about it…

1) it’s ready in 30 minutes

2) it’s made in one skillet

Quickly made… quickly cleaned up! Yippee!

So, here it is… hope you have a great weekend! I have more family coming… my dear sweet Aunt Meggy from North Carolina! So super excited! Enjoy!

ZUCCHINI, BLACK BEAN & RICE SKILLET 

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 tablespoon Pure Wesson® Canola Oil
  • 1-1/2 cups quartered lengthwise, sliced zucchini
     1/2 cup diced green bell pepper
  •  1 can (15 oz each) Rosarita® Premium Whole Black Beans, drained, rinsed
  • 1 can (14.5 oz each) Hunt’s® Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes with Garlic, undrained
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 cup instant white rice
  • 1/2 cup shredded Cheddar and Monterey Jack cheese blend

NUTRITION INFORMATION*

Serving Size 4 servings (1-1/4 cups each)
Calories 276

View complete nutrition information

DIRECTIONS

  1. Heat oil in large skillet over medium heat. Add zucchini and bell pepper; cook 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add beans, undrained tomatoes and water. Increase heat and bring to a boil.
  2. Add rice; stir well. Cover; remove from heat and let stand 7 minutes or until liquid is absorbed. Sprinkle with cheese.
4 thoughts on “PIN-spiration… In The Kitchen

    • Oh yes, I have PLENTY more dessert pins than I do healthy choices! Lol! Also, I used brown rice instead of white to make this recipe even healthier… Just a little tip. 😉

  1. I made this tonight! Although, I added a few things…onions, garlic, onion and garlic powder, spices, rosemary, sage, salt, and pepper. It was definitely yummy! SO glad you posted this! Keep posting easy, fast, and healthy recipes for me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

