Handmade Gift Idea

 My mom celebrated her birthday earlier this week and I wanted to make something special for her since we wouldn’t be able to see her this year. I spent a bit of time perusing Pinterest to get some ideas and came across a terra cotta pot someone had covered in photos, I thought it was kinda cute and maybe something I could adapt… I also had a few other ideas floating around but when I was out shopping and came across this plastic planter…

that’s when the wheels really started turning…

My first step was measuring the pot to see what size photo or photos I needed. I decided on this family photo of the four of us and printed it on regular printer paper in a 4×6 size and then trimmed it down to about 3 1/2×3 1/2.

Before adhering the photo though I took 4 different shades of tissue paper (light brown, dark brown, turquoise and green) leftover from various gifts and such. I chose these colors knowing Mom had them in her house already and I wanted to make it coordinate.

So, I tore pieces of the tissue paper and mod podged them onto the planter. Then added the photo, a little frame around it with some white paper border trim I had on hand in my creating supplies.

 I also added some ribbon around the top and…

 a 4 inch doily to the bottom to sign our names and the date as well as cover the excess tissue paper that ended up at the bottom.

 Then I added a few little gifties and things I know she loves inside and voila! a personalized one-of-a-kind handmade gift!

This could make a great gift for just about anyone on your list for the upcoming gift giving season or any occasion really! Add a photo of just your child and fill with goodies as an appreciation gift for their teacher… don’t forget the apple! 😉 How about a little saying on the front and give to your new neighbor welcoming them to the neighborhood, include some baked goods, your phone number and maybe a list of things you enjoy doing around town. The list of ideas goes on and on!

Also, don’t forget about my 100th post giveaway below… it ends tomorrow!

4 thoughts on “Handmade Gift Idea

Leave a Reply

