Finding Unexpected Treasure

This past weekend my cousin and I checked out an open-air handmade & vintage market that goes on once a month during the Summer here. Despite the heat that morning we had a wonderful time strolling through the booths and discovering something to chat about at each turn. I’ve only somewhat recently discovered the joys of vintage/antique/junk shopping and I have to say it can be quite an entertaining adventure. You never know what you are going to stumble upon. I managed to find a couple of I items I decided I couldn’t live without. πŸ˜‰

One was this retro style cookbook from the Culinary Art Institute… I couldn’t pass this up for a few reasons… First, there are an insane amount of recipes, second, it just looks cool even if I never open it, it’s fun to just look at, and three… it was only 5 bucks!!! Score! πŸ™‚

I also got a really neat selection of sheet music, which will make for some pretty cool backgrounds on some new art!

After that we headed a block down the street to the farmers market where we taste-tested coffee, salsa and melon, picked up some produce to take home with us and took a break to enjoy a pastry.

And then… I had the great honor of shopping for wedding dresses with her… Another treasure along with our growing friendship. This is the first time in my entire life I’ve lived near a cousin and I’m truly enjoying it! πŸ™‚

What are you treasuring right now? Have you come across any “hidden” or unexpected treasures lately? Do you enjoy vintage treasures… if so, what’s your all time favorite find?

Leave a Reply

