The Countdown

20120620-092219.jpg

This is the countdown we’ve had on our fridge for a while. It started at 40-something… Today it says “7”… This time next week we will have a loaded trailer with all our belongings and be starting our 650 mile trek to our new home and the next chapter of our life. It’s bittersweet really.

Although most moments of the last several weeks it hasn’t quite seemed real and I guess it may not for a while. It’s been more of moving through the motions, doing the next thing, being mostly in the moment… which I’m actually thankful for. There are friends & family I’ve already said “goodbye” to and others I haven’t yet. The “goodbye’s” are of course the hardest part of all of this. The friends that I’ve had a “history” with that I’d have loved to see my kids “grow up” with and those that I knew before even having kids. It’s just plain hard to say goodbye, although many of the goodbye’s are really just “see you later’s” it doesn’t necessarily make it any easier.

So, for now, I’ll just continue to take it day by day… allowing myself to shed a tear when necessary, get excited when I want to, and then there are moments of just getting down to business to get things ready. Through it all, I’m doing my best to relish in and just enjoy each moment of this adventure!

7 thoughts on “The Countdown

  1. I am new to this site.. but, do I remember correctly.. you are moving to CO ? Cause that is my dream… 🙂 Good Luck to you on your new journey! Cassy Hedges. StLouis, MO

  2. Cheri – I enjoy your blog and have enjoyed watching Noelle and Parker grow up when we visit Amanda and her family. Peyton talks about Noelle and Parker all
    the time and has had fun playing with them – nice to have good neighbors. Best of luck to you in your new home. Peggy Arthur (Amanda Todd’s mother)

    • Thanks Peggy! We will certainly miss them as well, we feel so blessed to have had such wonderful neighbors here. Our next ones certainly have big shoes to fill! 😉

Leave a Reply

