Artsy Fartsy Friday!

TGIF! Yippee for another Artsy Fartsy Friday! I actually finished the piece! 😉 It’s taken me a while, but it’s complete and I must say that I’m pleased with the results!

So, about a month ago I left off here… before the house went on the market and the craziness ensued! 😉

 Here’s a reminder of where I was last month.

 Next I took my Faber-Castell India Ink pens and drew in some flowers on either side of the tree.

  After that, I took a piece of white cardstock, smeared some paint onto it and wrote the scripture verse I chose to use: “There is a time for everything and a season for every activity under heaven.” Ecclesiastes 3:1

I had thought of this verse a while back and decided it was the one I wanted to use. This is a pretty well-known section of scripture, one that was even put into a song (several times), originally in 1959 by The Byrds (“Turn, Turn, Turn”). That song is somewhat near and dear to my heart because when I was a Junior in high school I choreographed a dance to that song that I performed on several occasions to the Dakoda Motor Co. version and have since enjoyed listening to the Adie Camp version.

The scripture goes on to say… “a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot, a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build, a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance, a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them, a time to embrace and a time to refrain, a time to search and a time to give up, a time to keep and a time to throw away, a time to tear and a time to mend, a time to be silent and a time to speak, a time to love and a time to hate, a time for war and a time for peace.” Ecc 3:2-8.

I think at any time there is probably one of these “time sayings” that can particularly “speak” to us in the various circumstances in our lives. The one that jumped out to me in this time of my life was “a time to plant and a time to uproot” because I feel that that’s where our family is at right now. In the process of “uprooting” our family… moving to another state and then we’ll be “planting” ourselves in a new place… and although it wasn’t planned, it’s quite perfect that the image on this art is of a tree.

Thanks for letting me share this process with you… I hope to do it again soon!

Which one of these “time” sayings do you feel applies to you right now? Which one “speaks” to you? I’d love to hear your story.

Leave a Reply

