You gotta start somewhere…

So, one night last week I was feeling the need to work on some art… actually I needed to release some tension and putting a brush in my hand sounded very relaxing. I had had an idea for a piece for a while, and though I had been imagining a large piece I decided to try a small one to start. So, here’s the beginning of it…

ย I normally just tear bits of paper for my backgrounds, but these pieces were cut into 1, 2, & 3 inch squares and adhered down. Not my usual style, but thought it might be fun to try something different. It kind of resembles a quilt…

Then after being so neat and precise, I looked around my desk and found all these scraps everywhere and decided to just stick them down on a canvas haphazardly and without too much thought (this was where the stress release came in). ๐Ÿ˜‰ And, this was the result:

ย Another piece very different from what I usually create, but I think it’s kinda fun… what do you think? Should I keep going or start over? One of the cool things about mixed media on canvas is that it’s easy to cover up and start all over if you want! ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “You gotta start somewhere…

Leave a Reply

