The Happy New Apron

So, last week I went into a new Anthropologie store that recently opened close by me. If you’ve had the pleasure of going into Anthropologie, you know what an eye candy, fun-filled experience it can be just walking around the store, right? Most items are on the higher priced end of things that usually do not fit into my budget, but how can one resist the promise of something to ooh and aah over at each turn, something else to touch and take in at every glance, the color, the beauty, the inspiration to soak in and enjoy… my most favorite store to window shop! πŸ™‚

So, I was doing just that last week, thoroughly enjoying a kid free afternoon, meandering around the store, taking my time, absorbing all that is Anthropologie when I turn to my left and see a rack of aprons, and a particular one “smiling” right at me amongst all the other beautiful fabric covers and of course, I couldn’t help but smile back, a big smile. I know, I know it sounds completely silly, but as I walked around the store, I was already smiling on the inside, so when I saw something that *really* delighted my senses the smile just burst out of me! πŸ™‚ Tell me this has happened to you before… that I’ve not completely lost my mind…

Anyway… I wasn’t really shopping for an apron, but I had been thinking I needed an art apron, because although it hasn’t happened yet, a bit of spilled paint or ink, or some other something on me is bound to happen… I am, by the way, a bit (gracefully) clumsy, so I know it’s only a matter of time before this will happen and knowing my luck it will happen when I’m wearing a favorite shirt! So, as I smiled back at the apron, I pondered the fact that this bit of splurge, would in fact, over time, become covered with paint splatters, ink splashes, pen marks and who knows what else. After some pondering & hemming and hawing… (I’m also a slow decision maker), I came to the conclusion, that those additions to this lovely apron would in fact add to the cute character already held in it’s white and turquoise beauty. I could almost picture the black ink smudges; the red, yellow, blue, green and pink paint splotches and all the other sorts of messy, artsy madness that would eventually take over… this thought did indeed make my grin even bigger as I realized this would in fact make the perfect art apron for me!

And on top of that I thought of it as a celebration of sorts, a little treat to the lovely kick off that has been Altered Iris… this apron too, shall become, over time, a bit of altered inspiration in and of itself! Besides it reminds me of my most favorite outfit when I was 5 and we all need to find the kid in us right?! πŸ˜‰

Then, after getting it home, trying it on and admiring it some more I decided it needed a little something…

So I added a little button to the off center of the flower…

And voila… cutesy wootsy don’t-cha think?!? And might I add, quite inspiring… now to get out the paints!! πŸ˜‰

2 thoughts on “The Happy New Apron

  1. “I was already smiling on the inside, so when I saw something that *really* delighted my senses the smile just burst out of me! ”

    Been there, too. πŸ™‚ And, I think the button was the perfect addition!

Leave a Reply

