Got a Minute? Make Dinner!

This week has been full of all things fun and festive, an attempt at squeezing in all those final Christmas-y things that we wanted to do before time runs out before the big day. Things like decorating gingerbread houses, last minute shopping and wrapping, baking for our neighbors and a last minute visit to the big guy in the red suit.

Maybe you are busy doing the same things and if you’re like us it’s difficult to find time (and sometimes even energy) to get a good dinner on the table. Last night we had leftovers and tonight it might be cereal… ha! So, I thought this would be a perfect time to share my all time favorite roast recipe… it’s super quick and super easy… a fix-it and forget-it if you will.

But first a little disclaimer — I had no idea when I started this blog that I would end up sharing so many recipes but, as a woman and a mom I spend a lot of time in my kitchen and as people in general we spend a lot of time eating right? And I for one am always on the lookout for new, good recipes and I’m sure you are too… so hopefully you are enjoying all the recipes and such that I’ve been sharing… by the looks of it, you will likely see more in the future! 🙂

Over time I’ve tried several roast recipes, some have turned out wonderful the first time and then when I’ve gone to make them again they’ve turned out dry. And some never turned out in the first place. I’ve never quite understood why and it’s been kind of frustrating. I LOVE well cooked roast, but when it’s tough and dry and has to be cut with a knife, I’d almost rather go hungry. That’s one of the reasons I love this recipe, it’s turned out wonderful every-single-time! And, even better… it’s so quick and so easy… you are not going to believe the only ingredients in this roast.

Roast… Onion Soup Mix… Hot Sauce… and Coke. Yup, that’s it! Put your roast in the crock pot, add 1 package of the soup mix, a can of coke and about 6 ounces of hot sauce. Cook on high 8-10 hours, depending on the size of your roast and voila… moist, delicious and flavorful roast… every time! (The recipe is from momswhothink.com, they have entire menu plans with recipes you can print for free, it’s a great site!)

 Mmm… mmm… good! Now, just whip up some mashed potatoes and some veggies like green beans or carrots, pull out the bread and butter and your set!

Now, if you are feeling a bit more adventurous or get a burst of energy you could bake up some homemade cornbread… I promise, it’s easy too. You could grab a box of Jiffy mix at the store but, for just a bit more effort you could make a much tastier batch. I found this great recipe on Food Network from the Neely’s and it’s fabulous!

 So, are you gonna try it out? (It’s fabulous, I promise!) Do you have any go to recipes that are quick and easy for this busy time of the year? Do you like to make cornbread from scratch or from a box? Do you ever get lazy like me and have cereal for dinner? What’s your favorite “feeling lazy” meal?

Leave a Reply

