Five Things Friday

Wow, did this week fly by or what!? I’ve been a busy beaver over here working on several projects so I thought I’d share them with you today for 5 Things Friday! ๐Ÿ™‚

1. We are working on redecorating all three bedrooms in our house… it started with our master bedroom which I had been dreaming of redoing for a while. When our white down comforter got stained from a middle-of-the-night-bloody-nosed-kid it became crucial that new bedding was in order {yay for me!} ๐Ÿ™‚ Hubby gave me the green light {and some green backs} and I ran for the red bulls-eye {aka Target}! ๐Ÿ™‚ Actually I spent about a dozen hours on Pinterest and other websites first, looking for just the right bedding, and decorating ideas to create the look I wanted to go for. After much, much debate; hemming and hawing and agonizing over what to do & what bedding would be best I went with this one from Target. I’m really happy with it but of course second guessed my choice for a while. Ugh… it doesn’t have to be perfect right? It’s just a bed? I only sleep there!? It’s probably only gonna have to stay this way for 8-10 years!? Only! Goodness, when it comes to home decor I can have such a phobia to commitment! Check me in to the looney bin, I need help! ๐Ÿ˜€

Anywho, there’s a few more things to do to get the room just right but for now here’s a little sneaky peek.

2. Moving on to bedroom 2! This was spurred on by my hubby’s rearranging of the basement to make more room for Wii game playing and some future P90X action. In the process most of the play area/toy space was nixed and so part of it was moved up to PJ’s room…

ย Yikes… can you say toy overload!?! So, I casually suggested the idea that we turn one room into a play room and let the kids share the other room. They were within earshot and got really excited about the idea and so after a bit of discussion, we decided to give it a go! Of course bunk beds were desired but after some talking between hubby & I, we opted for “side by side beds”.ย 

The bedding and furniture are set, and yes I did have as much of a commitment problem with this room as well, it ended up turning out almost completely opposite of what I originally pictured, but I like it and think it’s going to all work out just fine! The walls obviously still need to be decorated, but as you saw in the “before” pic that never happened in the last room, although I’m determined to make it happen this time! ๐Ÿ™‚ Sometimes you know, you just don’t have the funds, or sometimes maybe it’s the time you lack and then other times, it’s just the energy you can’t seem to muster to pull things together… ugh, sometimes all of the above are true, but I for one am done with excuses! ๐Ÿ˜‰

3. And as for the playroom…

Here’s a little sneaky of it! Still work to be done in here too {again mostly wall art}. I’m hoping to do an alphabet wall, similar to this; and a kids art display like thisย or this. We wanted to do a chalkboard somewhere, but I’m afraid there isn’t going to be room… but, as I write this I’m thinking maybe behind the door we could squeeze something like that in?We’ll see… I’ll keep you up-to-date on the progress of these rooms… I’ve got lots of ideas, but gotta take it one little step at a time and I have to remind myself that as my Dad used to tell me…
“You can do anything you want, but you can’t do everything you want”! ๐Ÿ™‚

Moving on…

4. Here’s another little project I’m working on…

A little Fall yarn wreath action! I covered this last night while watching some football with my sweetie, but ran out of yarn! I’ll get some more to finish it off and then add some fun felt flowers! Using this tutorial hereย to put this together, I’m excited to see how it turns out! The other one I’m planning to do in ivory.

5. And last but not least… you know I couldn’t show you things I’m working on without giving you a sneak of some art now would I!?!

ย Fun stuff! Well, now I’m off to do some housework and grocery shopping! Having some of our favorite friends over for dinner tonight! Enjoy your Friday and have a fabulous weekend too! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

