Choosing Gratitude

{Photo & Art by me, coming to my Etsy shop this Fall}

I’m currently reading Halfway to Forever, the 3rd book in the Forever Faithful series by Karen Kingsbury and last Friday, hubby and I watched The Last Song; both of them have characters battling cancer. Both tearjerkers and I found myself overwhelmed with emotion after watching The Last Song. Praise God my family is very healthy; each one of us. But, the somber reality is that it could very easily change in any moment and it gave me a reminder that I should not take any moment, any thing, ever for granted. Each day, each moment is a gift to be treasured and enjoyed. How easy it is to take the good in life for granted, our health, our friends and family, our home, our freedoms… it happens all to easily. So, since I’m feeling grateful today & aware of the blessings that abound in my life I thought I’d share just a few of them with you today. My kids who I’ve spent time with playing games and reading books this morning, they are so much fun to be with yet, so many times I put my tasks and chores ahead of spending quality time with them; my friend Laura who I spent time with last night, we had such a great time, we are always so chatty, and seem to never run out of things to talk about, not to mention just being around her makes me want to be a better person, we’ve only really known each other for a few months and I am reminded often how rare it is to find such a good friend, a kindred spirit but that she most definitely is; my long time friend Nichole who is moving back from NYC in a few short weeks, she’s been gone for 2 years and I’m so thrilled to be only a few miles from her instead of many, many miles; and of course I could share things I’m grateful for without including my amazing husband who is just, well… amazing. {I love you sweetie!} So, I could go on and on listing all the many, many people and things I’m thankful for, but I’ll stop here (for now).

I’m considering starting a 1000 Gifts list, if you haven’t read Ann Voskamp‘s One Thousand Gifts book, I highly recommend it… it’s truly a life changing book, one I’m considering reading again before the year is over. It’s really that good. Anyway, in it she is challenged by a friend to write down 1,000 things she is thankful for and through the act of writing those things down her life is changed and she continues on past 1,000 and still continues today on her blog and other people share their lists on the 1000 Gifts website. Check it out and tell me, what are you thankful for today?

Leave a Reply

