A Gift Idea for the Hard-To-Buy-For!

 Is it really Thursday already!? Where did the week go? We have been busy getting my Kindergartner into the swing of things. With last week’s drama it’s been a bit difficult getting her very excited about school, unfortunately! Monday & Tuesday were really rough but yesterday was major progress… hoping today goes just as smoothly! Cheers to the start of school!

Moving on… today I have a little crafty DIY gifty project to share with you! It’s super duper easy yet super cool! It’s a great gift for that hard to buy for person, a great hostess gift, a sweet neighbor or teacher gift at Christmas time, or even a fun little something you could make for yourself! 🙂

Your going to start with some tile pieces picked up at your local home improvement store. Mine are almost 4×4 and are the travertine variety. Although I love the look of these, the flat and less expensive tile would work marvelously too because they don’t have the texture that the travertine does that made it just a bit tricky. You’re going to want to put either felt pads or a sheet of cork onto the back of the tile so that it doesn’t scratch the surface of the table that it gets used on. This too can be found at the home improvement store.

Originally I thought of using a map for these but, didn’t have one laying around and I had limited time, so I had to improvise with what I did have… newspaper! I wasn’t sure if the mod podge would make the ink smear so I tested it out first and was ecstatic when it didn’t! I trimmed these down to the size of my tile using my Fiskars paper trimmer.

Next, you are going to take your mod podge and a brush and cover over the tile, then lay your newspaper clipping on top and then brush mod podge over it again! {Do you see those canvases back there in the top left of my photo? That’s a little sneaky peek of what will be coming to an Etsy shop near you… opening this Fall!}

Here’s how the coaster will look once it’s dry.

Next, you are going to find a stamp with whatever image you want to put on your coaster. I used an alphabet foam stamp set that I have for my recipient’s last initial. If you don’t have foam stamps and you want to use a rubber mount or acrylic stamp you can, but you need to use staz on ink instead of paint.

Then you’ll get your stamp ready by covering it in paint or ink and carefully stamp the image to the center of your tile. My paint didn’t lay down perfectly so I used a small paintbrush and went over the letter carefully filling in the missing spots.

Here’s a look at it once I filled in the letter… much better! I decided to draw in a little border so I used a Zig Writer pen and drew a dashed line around the outside edges of each coaster. Once all of that is dry cover over it one more time with mod podge to seal everything and…

Wrap with a ribbon and voila, a quick, easy, inexpensive & darling gift for the hard to buy for person on your gift giving list!

And of course if you’re going to hand make a gift, why not hand make a card to go with it! 🙂

If you decide to make your own coasters I do hope you’ll share with me! Happy Thursday! See you back here tomorrow for this week’s Five Things Friday! 🙂

One thought on “A Gift Idea for the Hard-To-Buy-For!

  1. Love it! I have a person these will be perfect for! Think I will use the map idea! They are travelers, so it would be perfect! Thanks for another great post!

Leave a Reply

