My Art: An Introduction Part 1

So, one of the main reasons for starting this blog was to share my artwork and inspire creativity in others. So over the rest of the week I’m going to share a few of my pieces to either inspire by or just simply give you some eye candy to enjoy! The Altered Iris Etsy store will be opening this Fall and so this will give you a little peek into what you might expect to see there!

This first piece is really the piece that started it all! My first canvas based on this tutorial from Christy Tomlinson. It was love at first creation and I honestly couldn’t wait to do more!

So, when my sister-in-law asked if I would make something for my niece’s new room she was getting for her birthday I jumped at the chance and knew exactly what I was going to do! I was nervous but excited and in the end was really happy with how it turned out and gratefully; she was too! 🙂

My process always starts with a blank canvas which gives such a multitude of possibilities! It’s always exciting to me to lay out that fresh white canvas on my studio desk and cover  it with that first layer of paint. I almost always have a general idea of what I want to create but the details only come together through the process of creating it. I love never knowing exactly where I’ll end up!

Come back tomorrow and I’ll share two more pieces with you!

Leave a Reply

